The Think They Call Yuppie Flu.

Today was a Spoonless day that I tried to make into a Spoonfull day…whoops! 

That was a huge mistake. I got up, I got dressed, I put on make up, I went to University. For approximately 15 minutes. It was at that point that Flick asked me if I was sure I could manage and I replied: Nope. This was a bad idea. 

So I took my bloated, feverish, exhausted, pained ass home and put it to bed…but not before I had an enjoyable encounter with a taxi driver who introduced me to the worst term for my illness in the worst way.

“Is that Yuppie Flu?” 

“Sorry?” I responded.

“Yeah… I fink they call that fing yuppie flu.”

“I don’t think so…” I had no idea what he was talking about, of course. But part of my brain was quietly whirring while he wittered on about “cutting back on alcohol” and “sleeping alright”. 

Yuppie (noun) = demeaning term for Young Urban Professional. Term coined in the 1980’s.

Flu (noun) = Temporary virus causing fever, convulsions, dehydration, nausea, vomiting, exhaustion, muscle pain and fatigue, temporary cognitive processing issues.

Yuppie…well mildly. I consider my self young and professional but the term is so…course. Yuppie; like parading around with daddy’s suitcase in mummy’s high heels. And flu? So I’ll just take some Benadryl and all will be well, will it? It didn’t sit right with me.

Without even saying a word I am sure he must have sensed that he had insulted me because he began to overly explain himself and apologise; that he meant no offence. 

“Yeah. A lot of people get yuppie flu. Worse than normal flu. Like that fibromy-whatsit! But that’s sumfin else, like pain? I’m sure you’ll get over it, eh?”

Being of usual sound, mind and body…even I was surprised at my own response. 

“No. You manage CFS. With medication, and mobility aids and adjustments to your activity.” 

“That explains the stick, then, hmm?” He didn’t sound convinced in the slightest, snorting and casually wiping his nose with his hand with such nonchalance; as though I could wipe away my illness just as easily. Baring in mind that I had shooting pains up and down my wrists…no wiping of any kind was going to be done unless absolutely necessary. 

“The stick…the fact I’ve gone from working 20 hours a week while a full time student to zero…that I dropped two grades of degree in 3 months…that I take 15 pills a day…don’t get to swim my usual 3 times a week…that you’re giving me a lift rather than me cycling.”

I’ll admit it…I was blunt in the face of his ignorance. Far more blunt than usual because I couldn’t really see where he was going because my eyes haven’t been behaving today and I was exhausted to the point of slurring like a drunkard. And he went silent for a minute in the face of that bluntness. 

“Really that bad, eh?” I saw him glance warily at me, finally understanding that he may have actually insulted someone with a genuine illness and not just a young-professionals excuse to skive off after graduation. 

I didn’t answer him. A mixture of being too exhausted and a want to save my energy to someone who didn’t open a conversation about my illness based on such a derisive assumption. 

“Well I hope you have a better day or two soon, okay?” 

I researched the term to buggery. Seems like you don’t even need to know where it came from or what it means to understand that it’s a cloak and dagger way for idiots to be assholes. 

Yuppie Flu (noun)= Derogatory term for CFS. 

And apparently a well known derogatory term as far as I can tell! 

So, yes, Portsmouthian Taxi Driver. I’ve got Yuppie Flu. It’s permanent but treatable so I will eventually have another good day. You, on the other hand, were the twat who insulted the sickening cripple when she trusted you to kindly take her home … and there ain’t no treatment for that.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. michellinafication
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 22:35:13

    Hi, nice blog. You have a way with words. Found your blog via Insta… This yuppie flu terminology is a crime. Some people need to be more professional when suggesting such things, hey? Don’t worry: science with save us all. There’s some good research coming out of Griffith Uni in Queensland, AU. Cheers Michellina🐰

    Reply

    • todayspippa
      Oct 07, 2015 @ 22:41:18

      Thank you so much! I like to keep it conversational on my blog most of the time! I really enjoyed your most recent post; apparently a way with words also leads from yourself!

      Just incase it slipped past you, I have a competition going on for SassySpoonies (chronic illness survivors) and our supporters if you’re interested in winning a tshirt! You just go to the pic of me wearing the tinker bell tshirt and leave your happy thought! First it was about celebrating 100 followers BUT so many people have shared such beautiful thoughts that it is a bit bigger 🙂

      Given your skills as a wordsmith I would love to see your happy thought!

      Pippa 😊

      Reply

Leave a Reply

